Residence Angels - Blog

ETIAS 2025

Latest news

Understanding ETIAS: The New European Travel Authorization System

In a move to enhance border security and streamline the process of traveling to the Schengen Zone, the European Union is set to introduce the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) in 2025. This system parallels the U.S. Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) and represents a significant shift in travel regulations for numerous non-EU countries.

What is ETIAS?

ETIAS stands for the European Travel Information and Authorization System. It's an electronic system designed to manage visitors from countries that don't require a visa to enter the Schengen Zone. Notably, ETIAS is exclusively for the Schengen Zone and does not apply to EU countries outside this area.
The Purpose and Process

The ETIAS system aims to ensure that individuals from visa-exempt countries do not pose a security risk before they enter any Schengen Zone country. While these travelers are exempt from the extensive visa application process, ETIAS requires a thorough security check of each applicant, maintaining updated information to determine their eligibility.

Who Needs ETIAS Authorization?

Starting in 2025, travelers will need ETIAS authorization if they:

  • Are not citizens of the European Union;
  • Come from a country whose citizens are visa-exempt for short visits to the ETIAS-required countries;
  • Do not possess a residence permit or equivalent document from ETIAS-required countries.

ETIAS Start Date and Affected Countries

Initiated in 2016, ETIAS will become operational in 2025. It will impact over 1.4 billion individuals from more than 60 visa-exempt nations, including the United States, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. These travelers, who previously entered Europe without a visa, will now require authorization to access 30 European countries. The list of these countries includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Visa-Exempt Countries Requiring ETIAS

Nationals from a range of countries, such as Albania, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, and the United States (among others), will need to apply for ETIAS authorization for short-term stays in any of the 30 European countries mentioned above.

Additional Information

Individuals who are family members of EU citizens, or nationals of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, or Switzerland, should consult specific FAQs for details on applying for ETIAS authorization.


The introduction of ETIAS marks a significant change in European travel regulations. If you are planning a trip to the Schengen Zone from a visa-exempt country after 2025, it's crucial to stay informed about the ETIAS requirements to ensure a hassle-free travel experience.